home  |  web master  |  team vrm
Welcome To NickWey.Com

Nick Wey Puts on Another of His 2004 Patent Come From Behind Charge at Pontiac for 5th


Recapped By: Pat Schutte - OMS Sports


ANAHEIM, Calif., (April 5, 2004) - Following a poor start (12th), Team Suzuki's Nick Wey put on one of his patented come-from-behind charges to finish 5th overall in the main event of Saturday's THQ/AMA Supercross Series, Round 13 at the Pontiac Silverdome.


With his fifth place finish, Wey gained some valuable points on Michael Byrne - who's currently in fifth place overall in the standings (Wey's in sixth, now just ten points behind Byrne, 169-159, with three races remaining).


"Yeah, I wasn't all that pleased with my start, that's for sure," said Wey. "But I was feeling pretty good about things, racing in front of my hometown fans and all. So I just put my head down and started picking guys off. I got into a good battle with my teammate, Sean Hamblin, and was fortunate to be able to get past him for fifth place overall."


Wey also had an exciting heat race with fellow Midwest pro Mike LaRocco. "I almost caught him," said Wey. "If I'd have had just a few more turns, things would have gotten real interesting."


Wey and Team Suzuki return to THQ/AMA Supercross Series action on April 17 when the Round 14 of the series stops at Dallas' Cowboys Stadium.


THQ World Supercross Series/THQ AMA Supercross Series Event Results, Pontiac, Mich.
1. Chad Reed, Dade City, Fla., Yamaha
2. Mike LaRocco, Corona, Calif., Honda
3. David Vuillemin, Murrieta, Calif., Yamaha
4. Kevin Windham, Centerville, Miss., Honda
5. Nick Wey, Dewitt, Mich., Suzuki
6. Sean Hamblin, Murrieta, Calif., Suzuki
7. Heath Voss, Mico, Texas, Yamaha
8. Damon Huffman, Valencia, Calif., Honda
9. Ezra Lusk, Bainbridge, Ga., Yamaha
10. Michael Byrne, Temecula, Calif., Kawasaki


THQ AMA Supercross Series Season Standings
1. Chad Reed, Dade City, Fla., Yamaha, 311
2. Kevin Windham, Centerville, Miss., Honda, 274
3. Mike LaRocco, Corona, Calif., Honda, 252
4. David Vuillemin, Murrieta, Calif., Yamaha, 240
5. Michael Byrne, Temecula, Calif., Kawasaki, 169
6. Nick Wey, Dewitt, Mich., Suzuki, 159
7. Heath Voss, Mico, Texas, Yamaha, 150
8. Damon Huffman, Valencia, Calif., Honda, 134
9. Sean Hamblin, Murrieta, Calif., Suzuki, 126
10. Grant Langston, Lake Elsinore, Calif., KTM, 111





Click here to return to the list of articles.


This site was developed and is maintained by Virtually Real Motocross
1999 - 2007 VRM LLC, All Rights Reserved.


New Page 1

Web vrmweb.com